A Music Festival Guide

My first ever music festival experience occurred this weekend in the city that never sleeps. This was the perfect spot for PanoramaNYC to occur.

Although overwhelming, I picked up a lot of tips and helpful advice I’ll need if I ever decide to give this another go.

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 11.56.50 PM.png
source: instargram.com/panoramanyc
  1. You’re walking. A lot. You must decide whether you will compromise your fashion for function. I wore sneakers, and I almost didn’t make it home with them on.

  2. You sweat. A lot. long lines of sweaty teens, and a bolstering sun will make you want to pass out if you don’t conserve your energy for when the time is right. Bring something with you to cool yourself down, or to rejuvenate yourself.

  3. Have a good idea before hand of who you’d like to see before the festival. You can easily plan out your day way better, and prepare yourself when there is time in between sets.

    Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 11.57.03 PM.png
    source: instargram.com/panoramanyc
  4. You can pack a lot of water, but you don’t necessarily need to. There were free water refill stations that were available at multiple locations within the venue. The smaller the water bottle, the less you’ll have to carry. Unlimited hydration!

  5. You really don’t HAVE to have an amazing festival outfit. Festivals are a great spot for people to express themselves, but going in a t-shirt and shorts isn’t that bad, either.

  6. If you do drink, pregame before hand. Alcohol was a minimum of $9-11 for each serving. You’ll spend more money on that than the actual cost of the ticket. By the way, eat, too. My tater tots (a side dish) was also $9.

  7. There are thousands, and thousands of people there just like you. I personally left 15 minutes before I knew the festival would end. I avoided 10,000 people trying to exit at the same time as me, and I am really happy I did that.

    Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 11.56.24 PM.png
    source: instargram.com/panoramanyc
  8. Go to all of the kiosks before the crowd starts to really accumulate. I got there when the festival opened, and had my freedom to go up to any sponsor I wanted to pick up some free swag without any lines or pressure from other people.

  9. Go with someone as free-caring as you. There are a lot of crowds, a lot of things to do, a lot of artists to see. You must be willing to just go with the wind, even if things are going swimingly.

  10. Enjoy yourself, because a ten-hour day goes by a lot faster than you think!

Questioning whether I’d ever do this again, but, if you haven’t tried it out, give music festivals a shot. More diversity needs to be represented at these things, and they definitely have the ability to be one, big, huge, happy melting pot! Rock on, music goers.

Leave a Reply

