Did it really happen if you didn’t put it on the gram?

Instagram has become the only means of social media that I use. It is something that has intrigued me, due to the social impact it has made for its users around the world. I’m pretty inquisitive, and analytical, so, I did some research on the fundamental impact it has on its users, and societal norms.

If you’re an avid user, you probably already know much of the information I’m going to provide, but it’s more important to see the information laid out in front of you so we can put our thoughts into fruition.

The most commonly posted (in order) pictures on Instagram, are:

  • Selfies
  • Friends (two more more humans posted in a picture together)
  • Activities
  • Gadgets
  • Food
  • Photos with a caption (memes, etc.)
  • Fashion
  • Pets

The study I am citing (below) indicates that there is not a direct correlation between the amount of followers someone has, and the type of photo that the person typically posts.

I find this terribly hard to believe, just through an individual analysis of what gets particular people a particular amount of likes. I myself, have been told that “the people”, in other words, my followers, only like to “like” my photos when the picture is directly associated with myself. In other words, a selfie, and activity of me, a close up of me, etc. So why, then, given this research, try to post particular photos in which we believe will help us gain our follower or like count? Does the system really embedded within the Instagram world even matter? What were humans doing before this to ensure the sanctity of feeling loved, or special?

Source:

Hu, Y. et. al. (2014). What We Instagram: A First Analysis of Instagram Photo Content and User Types. Arizona State University

Leave a Reply

